Welcome to the website of the Pediatric Neurooncology Center Heidelberg!





This is a joint web portal of the Divisions of Pediatric Neurooncology and Molecular Genetics at the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ) Heidelberg, the Clinical Cooperation Units for Neuropathology and Pediatric Oncology between the DKFZ and Heidelberg University Hospital, and the Center for Individualized Pediatric Oncology (ZIPO) and Brain Tumors at the Department of Pediatric Oncology and Hematology (Center for Child and Adolescent Medicine in Heidelberg) united in their fight against childhood brain tumors.

Based on a technological revolution in detection methods such as next-generation sequencing and epigenome analysis, it has in recent years become possible to decipher the entire genetic and epigenetic code of a given tumor within few days. Applying these new technologies to primary brain tumor samples, we have witnessed extraordinary successes in understanding the biology of various different childhood brain tumors including medulloblastoma, low-grade astrocytoma, ependymoma, glioblastoma, and other less common entities. A major driving force for these discoveries was the ICGCPedBrain project, a unique joint funding project between the Deutsche Krebshilfe and the German Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) coordinated at the DKFZ.    

During this period, it has become quite evident that many of the important distinctions between different brain tumors cannot be made just by subjecting tumors to microscopic analysis after surgical excision. Similar as for other tumor entities, e.g., leukemias, for which it is of course much easier to obtain tumor material, even repeatedly throughout the course of the disease, novel molecular tests are necessary to complement conventional histopathological analysis in order to enable the most accurate diagnosis. We are convinced that spending about 1-2% of the total budget that is overall required for the treatment of a patient with a malignant brain tumor to establish an accurate diagnosis is more than justified and will yield in better treatment stratification, i.e., tailoring the appropriate treatment intensity to each patient, and ultimately higher cure rates.


 Research  Diagnostics  Therapy
IMAGICSCIENCE 201112070005402 DS2 Labor 080 DS2 20130214 Tabletten 02 DS2

Herzlich Willkommen auf der Seite des Zentrums für pädiatrische
Neuroonkologie in Heidelberg!

 

Dies ist das gemeinsame Internet-Portal der Abteilungen Pädiatrische Neuroonkologie und Molekulare Genetik des Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrums (DKFZ) Heidelberg, den klinischen Kooperationseinheiten für Neuropathologie und Pädiatrische Onkologie des DKFZ und des Heidelberger Universitätsklinikums, sowie des Zentrums für Individualisierte Pädiatrische Onkologie (ZIPO) und Hirntumore der Klinik für Pädiatrische Onkologie und Hämatologie, die sich gemeinsam dem Kampf gegen kindliche Hirntumoren widmen.

Die technische Revolution im Bereich der Nachweisverfahren, wie die Hochdurchsatzsequenzierung oder die Analyse des Epigenoms, ermöglichten es in den letzten Jahren, den gesamten genetischen und epigenetischen Code eines Tumors innerhalb weniger Tage zu entschlüsseln. Der Einsatz dieser neuen Technologien zur Untersuchung von primären Hirntumor-Proben führte zu großen Erfolgen im Verständnis der Biologie unterschiedlicher Hirntumoren wie des Medulloblastom, des niedrig-gradigen Astrozytoms, des Ependymoms, Glioblastoms und anderen weniger häufigen Entitäten. Eine treibende Kraft für diese Forschung war das vom DKFZ koordinierte ICGCPedBrain Projekt, ein einzigartiges gemeinschaftliches Förderungsprojekt der Deutschen Krebshilfe und des Deutschen Ministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF).

Dieses Projekt machte deutlich, dass viele der wichtigen Unterschiede zwischen verschiedenen Hirntumoren nicht durch histopathologische Untersuchung unter dem Mikroskop gefunden werden können. Ähnlich wie bei anderen Tumor-Entitäten, wie z. B. der Leukämie, bei der es wesentlich einfacher ist, an Tumorgewebe zu gelangen, sind neuartige molekulare Tests nötig, um konventionelle histopathologische Analysen zu ergänzen und so eine möglichst genaue Diagnose stellen zu können. Wir gehen davon aus, dass 1-2% des Gesamtbudgets, das zur Behandlung eines Patienten mit einem bösartigen Hirntumor aufgewendet werden muss, gerechtfertigt sind, wenn es dadurch gelingt, eine präzise Diagnose zu stellen und durch eine verbesserte Risikoeinschätzung und eine entsprechend angepasste Therapie eine höhere Heilungsrate zu erzielen.  

 

Forschung  Diagnose Therapie
IMAGICSCIENCE 201112070005402 DS2 Labor 080 DS2 20130214 Tabletten 02 DS2